Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Welcome to Our School
"Where every child has the chance to shine"

Our Governing Body

The Governing Body is the group of parents, staff and people from the local community who guide the management of Ashlands, supporting and challenging the school management team to make sure that Ashlands is as effective a school as it can be. The role of Governors is often described as a “critical friend” - someone who will ask difficult questions, but in a constructive way to drive continuous improvement. The Governors are, ultimately, legally responsible for the quality of education at Ashlands, and the welfare and safety of pupils and staff. At Ashlands, our Governing Body is made up of: parent governors, who have children at school, and are elected by the parents; staff governors, who represent the teaching and non-teaching staff and are chosen by the staff; LEA governors, who are appointed by the education authority, and nominated by local politicians; and Community Governors, who are invited to join the Governing Body, often to bring needed skills and expertise.

The Governing Body meets six times a year. It manages the school through two main committees – the Pastoral and Academic Committee, which is responsible for the welfare of the whole school community and the education of the pupils and the Finance Committee, which is responsible for managing the school budget and the upkeep of the school’s premises. The Buildings Committee advises the Governing Body on the long-term investment in the school’s buildings and grounds, focused on improving the “learning environment”.

People have many reasons for becoming Governors, and we’re certainly not all governors for the same reasons. What we all share, though, is a passion for making Ashlands the best place it can be for children to learn, for staff to work, and above all for everyone to enjoy coming here. 

Copies of minutes are available from the school office   






Instrument of Government

Register of interests of governors - Sept 2019-20

GOVERNORS COMMITTEES  - currently being udpated

Ashlands Primary School Governors 2019 - 2020  

 NAME                                                            TYPE & OTHER  RESPONSIBILITES                        CONTACT DETAILS             


Sarah Hellen                                                   Teaching Staff Governor                   


Dawn Morgan                                                Parent Governor                                 

                                                                       Vice Chair of Governors

     Reception Governor

                                                                       SEN Governor


Kathy Raine                                                    Deputy Head                                      



Dan Smith                                                       Co-opted Community Governor         

                                                                        Year 5 Governor


Paul Smith                                                      Co-opted Community Governor          

                                                                       Nursery Governor                                          


Charlotte Smithson                                         Non-Teaching Staff Governor             

                                                                        Health & Safety Governor



 Andrew Soutar                                                Head teacher                                     


Guy Weston                                                      Parent Governor                                          g.weston@ashlands,     


Nicola Wharmby                                             Parent Governor                                  

                                                                        Year 1 Governor

                                                                        Oversight for Safeguarding

                                                                        Friends Governor 

                 Looked After Children Governor


 Nicky Wilce                                                     Co-opted Community                          

                                                                        Year 2 Governor

                                                                        Eco Governor


Ritchie Williamson                                          LA Governor                                       

                                                                        Chair of Governors

                                                                        Year 3 Governor

                                                                        Governors Forum Rep


Sally Weir                                                        Clerk to Governors