Ashlands Primary School

"Where every child has the chance to shine"

Ashlands Governing Body

The Governing Body is the group of parents, staff and people from the local community who guide the management of Ashlands, supporting and challenging the school management team to make sure that Ashlands is as effective a school as it can be. The role of Governors is often described as a “critical friend” – someone who will ask difficult questions, but in a constructive way to drive continuous improvement. The Governors are, ultimately, legally responsible for the quality of education at Ashlands, and the welfare and safety of pupils and staff. At Ashlands, our Governing Body is made up of: parent governors, who have children at school, and are elected by the parents; staff governors, who represent the teaching and non-teaching staff and are chosen by the staff; LEA governors, who are nominated by the Local Authority and appointed by the Governing Body based on theirs skills and knowledge and Community Governors, who are invited to join the Governing Body, often to bring needed skills and expertise.

The Governing Body meets six times a year. It manages the school through two main committees – the Pastoral and Academic Committee, which is responsible for the welfare of the whole school community and the education of the pupils and the Finance Committee, which is responsible for managing the school budget and the upkeep of the school’s premises. The Buildings Committee advises the Governing Body on the long-term investment in the school’s buildings and grounds, focused on improving the “learning environment”.

People have many reasons for becoming Governors, and we’re certainly not all governors for the same reasons. What we all share, though, is a passion for making Ashlands the best place it can be for children to learn, for staff to work, and above all for everyone to enjoy coming here.

Copies of minutes are available from the school office

Ashlands School Governors 2021 – 2022

NAMETYPE & OTHER RESPONSIBILITIESCONTACT
Joanna ArchdaleTeaching Staff Governoroffice@ashlands.school
Chris BrownParent Governor
Year 4 Governor
chris.brown@ashlands.school
Alison ChalmersParent Governoralison.chalmers@ashlands.school
Roya HelmeCommunity Governor
Safeguarding Governor
Nursery Governor
roya.helme@ashlands.school
Dawn MorganParent Governor
Vice Chair of Governors
SEN Governors
Year 1 Governor
dawn.morgan@ashlands.school
Caroline PopeCo-opted Community Governor
Year 6 Governor
Pupil Premium Governor
caroline.pope@ashlands.school
Paul SmithCo-opted Community Governor
Chair of Governors
Reception Governor
Chair – Finance Committee
paul.smith@ashlands.school
Charlotte SmithsonCo-Opted Non-Teaching Staff Governor
Health & Safety Governor
Media Governor
office@ashlands.school
Andrew SoutarHead Teacheroffice@ashlands.school
Francesca SpencerParent Governor
Year Five Governor
francesca.spencer@ashlands.school
Nicola WharmbyParent Governor
Friends Governor
Looked After Children Governor
Year 2 Governor
Oversight for Safeguarding Governor
Chair of Academic Pastoral Committee
nicola.wharmby@ashlands.school
Nicky WilceCo-opted Community
Eco Governor
Year 3 Governor
nicky.wilce@ashlands.school
Sally WeirClerk to Governorsoffice@ashlands.school
Kathy RaineDeputy Head (observer)office@ashlands.school

Committees at Ashlands

Academic and Pastoral

Nicola Wharmby – Chair

Andrew Soutar

Dawn Morgan

Joanne Archdale

Roya Helme

Caroline Pope

Charlotte Smithson

Nicky Wilce

Chris Brown

Kathy Raine (in attendance)

Building & Premises

Andrew Soutar

Francesca Spencer

John Butler

Bryan Hellen

Finance

Paul Smith – Chair

Andrew Soutar

Joanna Archdale

Dawn Morgan

Chris Brown

Charlotte Smithson

Alison Chalmers

John Butler (in attendance)

Kathy Raine (in attendance)

Jeanette Ward (in attendance)