Ashlands Primary School

"Every child has the right to shine"

Ashlands Governing Body

The Governing Body at Ashlands provides the school with strategic leadership and accountability for educational and financial performance. The three core functions of a school governing body are to:

  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure money is well spent

Our Governing Body is made up of: parent governors, who have children at school, and are elected by the parents; staff governors, who represents the teaching and non-teaching staff and is chosen by the staff; the Head Teacher, Co-opted Governors, who are appointed from the wider community by the Governing Body, often to bring specific skills and expertise, and Trustee appointed governors.

The Governing Body meets six times a year. It has one committee, the Finance and Resources Committee, which is responsible for managing the school budget and the upkeep of the school’s premises.

School governors are one of the largest volunteer forces in the UK. People have many reasons for becoming Governors, and governors come from different backgrounds. What we all share is our desire that Ashlands is a welcoming place where all children can flourish and develop to the best of their ability, where staff are happy to work, and where parents are proud to send their children.

Copies of minutes are available from the school office

Joanna ArchdaleStaff
Chris BrownParent Governor
Literacy Governor
Alison ChalmersParent Governor
Numeracy Governor
Sarah EdwardsTrustee Appointed
Rachel HatfieldCo-opted
Roya HelmeCo-opted Governor
Safeguarding Governor
Annet NottinghamCo-opted Governor
Chair of Governors
Eco & Sustainability Governor
Sandra OverfieldCo-Opted Governor
Vice Chair of Governors and Chair of Finance & Resources Committee
Donna RussellHead
Nicola WharmbyTrustee Appointed Governor
Curriculum Governor
Early Years Governor
Helen OsmanClerk to
Kathy RaineDeputy Head (observer)
Helen WilliamsTrustee Appointed Governorvia

Ashlands School Governors 2023 – 2024

  • 2022 – 2023 There are no associate governors at Ashlands

School Governor Pen Portraits

CEO: Ms Helen Williams
Cowpasture Road Ilkley West Yorkshire LS29 8TR
The Multi Academy Trust is a Company incorporated in England and Wales, limited by guarantee with registered Company number 07663864